Students
Year 11 

To All Year 11s

To support your transition to your next steps this page will be updated regularly with the most up to date information from local Colleges, please make sure you check this page regularly for the most up to date information and contact methods. 

During year 10 or 11 you will have had a one-to-one interview with a career’s advisor. However, if you would like a further conversation please email Mrs Hammond-Phillips (z.hammond-phillips@unity.lancs.sch.uk) and we can organise another session for you.

The college subscribes to the Start platform. This can be accessed using your office 365 email address and login details. This website collates information from the local colleges and helps with the application process.

Current information from Local Colleges

Burnley College / Themis – https://www.burnley.ac.uk

Burnley College are running a lot of Question and Answer sessions through their social media platforms:

Facebook: burnley college / Themis

Instagram: burnleycollege / Themisburnley

Twitter: @BurnleyCollege @Themisburnley

Open evenings will take place from 5.30-7.30pm

  • Wednesday 21st September
  • Tuesday 4th October
  • Thursday 13th October
  • Thursday 3rd November
  • Thursday 17th November
  • Thursday 12th January
  • Thursday 14th March

School Liaison contact details for anyone who is still unsure on the options/choice/questions about GCSES’s etc. Telephone: 01282 733322, email: admission@burnley.ac.uk or contact via any social media platform.


Nelson and Colne

Open evenings will take place from 5.30-7.30pm.  If you would like to access during the quiet hour (4.30-5.30pm) please email admissions@nelson.ac.uk

  • Thursday 29th September
  • Wednesday 19th October
  • Tuesday 22nd November
  • Wednesday 25th January
  • Thursday 9th February (Apprenticeships only)

Specific queries can be emailed to the following email: admissions@nelson.ac.uk


Accrington and Rossendale  (Part of the Nelson and Colne college group)

https://www.accross.ac.uk/

Open evenings will take place from 5.30-7.30pm.  If you would like to access during the quiet hour (4.30-5.30pm) please email admissions@nelson.ac.uk

  • Wednesday 21st September
  • Thursday 11th October
  • Wednesday 16th November
  • Monday 30th January
  • Thursday 9th February (Apprenticeships only)

Specific queries can be emailed to the following email: admissions@nelson.ac.uk


Myerscough College – https://www.myerscough.ac.uk/

Myerscough College offers a range of vocational and apprenticeship options.

Open days 10.00am – 2.00pm

  • Saturday 8th October
  • Saturday 5th November
  • Saturday 10th December

St Christopher’s Sixth Form – https://www.st-christophers.org/sixth

A levels only

Open evening Thursday 20th October 6.00-8.00pm


Training 2000 – https://www.training2000.co.uk/ 

Students can access support from Training 2000 to:

  • Apply for an apprenticeship
  • Write a CV or covering letter
  • Practice interview technique
  • Gain more information about their current course and vacancies.

This can be accessed using social media or by emailing info@t2000.co.uk

Facebook: training 2000

Twitter: @training2000

Apprenticeship open day 12th November 10.00am – 2.00pm

Latest News: